As an accountant working in an Accountant’s Copy, you can work on transactions dated on or before the dividing date. Your client continues to work in the company file on transactions dated after the dividing date. To prevent your work from conflicting with your client’s work, there are limitations to what you can do in an Accountant’s Copy.
Note: If the restrictions on using an Accountant’s Copy won’t accommodate your situation, you can convert it to a regular company file. If you do this, your client will not be able to automatically import your changes. He or she will have to enter your changes manually in the company file.
How do I know what I can do?
An Accountant’s Copy prevents you from making any changes that may conflict with your client’s work. Some fields may be disabled in an Accountant’s Copy. In otherareas, you may see fields with a highlighted background.
-Highlighted background. Information you enter in fields with a highlighted background will be included in changes you send back to your client.
-Without highlighted background. For fields without the highlighted background, you can change the information in the field if it helps you with your work, but that information will not be included in the changes you send back to your client.
Transaction restrictions in Accountant’s Copy
In an Accountant’s Copy, you can add, edit, void, and delete most transactions. The following transactions cannot be added, edited, voided, or deleted:
Non-posting transactions (such as estimates, sales orders)
Transfer of fundsbetween accounts
You can add or delete, but not edit or void:
Bill payments by credit card
Adjustments to value on hand
You cannot add direct deposit payments to vendors, and you cannot edit certain information (payee and amount) in existing direct deposit transactions.
Reconciliation restrictions in Accountant’s Copy
You can reconcile any period that ends before the dividing date and your changes will be sent back to your client. Also, if you change the reconcile status of a transaction in the register, the change will go back to your client.
You can also reconcile periods ending after the dividing date if it helps you with your work, but those changes will not be sent back to your client. You can unreconcile any period.
List restrictions in Accountant’s Copy
Note: The Chart of Accounts has no restrictions. You can work with the Chart of Accounts as you would in a regular QuickBooks file.
Generally, you can only view lists in an Accountant’s Copy, but there are exceptions. You can edit and delete list items, and make any list items you create in the Accountant’s Copy inactive. For lists with items dated before the Accountant’s Copy was created, you can only view the lists. You can edit the following lists:
Also, you can add items to the following lists:
Fixed asset item
Sales tax code list (you cannot inactivate items on this list)
Other names lists
Inventory adjustments restrictions in Accountant’s Copy
If the Accountant’s Copy was created from a QuickBooks 2010 company file, you can only adjust inventory by quantity, not value. Only the quantity option is available; value and both are removed from the drop down list.
While your accountant has an Accountant’s Copy
While your accountant is working with the Accountant’s Copy, you can continue to work in the current period (after the dividing date). To prevent your work from conflicting with your accountant’s work, there are limitations to what you can do after creating an Accountant’s Copy.
-You can work only on transactions dated after the dividing date.
-You can add a new account, but you cannot add a new subaccount to an existing account.–Existing accounts: You cannot edit, merge, or make an existing account inactive.
-New accounts: You canedit an account or make any account inactive that you created while your accountant has the Accountant’s Copy.
Lists (other than Chart of Accounts):
-You can edit, sort, and make list items inactive.
-You cannot delete or merge list items.
-You can reconcile your accounts while your accountant has an Accountant’s Copy.
-All reconciliations that include transactions in the current period (after the dividing date) are saved and will not be undone.
-To prevent conflicts with your accountant’s changes, reconciliations that include transactions dated on or before the dividing date will be undone when you import your accountant’s changes.
-If your accountant has reconciled or undone a reconciliation for any period, any reconciliations you did will be undone when you import your accountant’s changes